Sailboat - Opinions? - Beneteau First 235

General discussions. Please keep the topics weather, windsurf and kiteboard related. See the Off-Topic forum for other topics.
nanmoo

Sailboat - Opinions? - Beneteau First 235

Post by nanmoo »

http://www.thunderbirdmarine.com/boat-info.php?ID=3355

Anyone have any information, opinions, ideas to share? Checking her out tomorrow. Potential birthday present. Looking for something to use for long weekends to short weeks in the summer, probably moor in Nanaimo and spend time up as far as Desolation sound. Not planning on racing. Haven't sailed since I was a kid, but alike windsurfing, diving in head first!
Don't forget to bring a towel!
winddoctor
Website Donor
Website Donor

Post by winddoctor »

This boat looks a fair bit like a sailboat that my dad bought last year in Nanoose (Olsen 25). I'm just learning to sail it with him and it's been a lot of fun. I grew up with lasers and Hobies, but quit regular sailing when windsurfing arrived on the scene.

That boat should be a great introduction to shorter trips and day-sailing in mellower wind. I can't offer any technical knowledge, but the boat seems spec'd out nicely. I'm sure there are others on here who will be able to offer more help, but that looks like a great little boat!
Poultry in motion
JL

Post by JL »

Nice ... Plenty of accommodation & I'm a big fan of trailerable boats ... I got tired of paying to tie a sailboat up @ a marina & you can tow it home for maintenance ... Future prospects: Towing too different locations using it as a home as you travel . 8) http://www.beneteau235.com/ http://beneteau235.com/forum/
Last edited by JL on Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
Thermals are good.
nanmoo

Post by nanmoo »

I also grew up playing with the odd laser and hobie as well, but it's been a long time since then, and I didn't sail at all inbetween until I started windsurfing.